Home » World » Coronavirus: the British have been banned from entering the Czech Republic in the midst of the pandemic

Coronavirus: the British have been banned from entering the Czech Republic in the midst of the pandemic

The Czech Republic has closed its borders to travelers from 15 countries, including the United Kingdom, amid the global coronavirus pandemic.

Prime Minister Andrej Babis has declared a 30-day state of emergency, with foreign nationals traveling from Germany, Austria, Italy, Sweden, Norway, France, the Netherlands, Belgium, Spain, Denmark, Switzerland, China, South Korea, Iran and the United Kingdom all prohibited entry into the country.

Czech citizens were also barred from entering the aforementioned countries.

Although the ban will go into effect at 23:00 GMT on Friday March 13, according to Reuters, The independent has already received reports of cancellation of British travelers’ return flights from Prague to Gatwick.

A passenger said The independent: “We didn’t hear anything from easyJet or the airport – we only knew this was happening because a friend of ours lives in the Czech Republic and saw a press conference stating that we had been banished. We didn’t want to risk getting stuck there, so we came back in Gatwick.

“We still can’t get the airline or our travel insurance provider, so we don’t know where we are.”

International public transport vehicles with more than nine seats will also be prohibited from crossing the Czech border.

Special measures will be taken within the Czech Republic, including the closure of sports centers, spas and galleries; the cancellation of all public events of over 30 people; and the implementation of the curfew at 20:00 in restaurants

“It is clear that there will be economic impacts. But now we have to do everything we can to keep the virus from spreading, to avoid having it out of control here, “said the Prime Minister. “If we see that the measures don’t have enough effect, we will take more.”

Foreigners with permanent Czech residence and cross-border workers will be exempt from the ban.

As of this writing, the Czech Republic has 96 confirmed cases of Covid-19.

Following is the announcement by President Trump that foreign citizens from Schengen countries in Europe will be barred from entering the United States for the next 30 days. The ban does not apply to legal permanent residents of the United States, nor to those traveling from the United Kingdom and Ireland.


Leave a Comment