Thursday, 15 Nov 2018

Do you want to buy the Tim Brown Heisman Trophy? He goes to auction.

Since 1999, the Heisman Trophy winners have signed a waiver promising not to sell their iconic statues, but those that preceded them are not subject to any restrictions. The trophies won by Rashaan Salaam ($ 399,608), Charles White ($ 184,000), O.J. Simpson ($ 255,000) and Clint Frank ($ 317,000) all received significant sums in the open market.

The Heisman Trophy won by Tim Brown of Notre Dame, who in 1987 became the first wide receiver to win this award, followed by a long career in the NFL and the inducement to the Professional Football Hall of Fame, is the last in date: According to ESPN's Darren Rovell, it will be auctioned on November 19 and should surpass them.

"We think it's one of the most important trophies ever auctioned in all sports," said Ken Goldin, president of Goldin Auctions, in Rovell. "We received the most prestigious and most valuable award given to an NFL Hall of Fame member who has followed the most prestigious program in history."

Brown sold his Heimsan last year at a private sale, reports Rovell, and the buyer ceded it to an auction starting November 19 and ending December 5. .

A particular group of college football fans seems to have shown a keen interest in selling and does not wear green. Syracuse quarterback Don McPherson was second behind Brown in Heisman's 1987 vote after leading the Orangemen at the time to a perfect regular season record and final # 4 ranking. For years, Syracuse fans have claimed that McPherson deserved Heisman better that year and considered the auction as a way to recover from the past.

Sean Keeley – former owner of Troy Nunes is an absolute magician, the Syracuse SB Nation blog – has a new idea:

McPherson completed 129 of 229 pass attempts, totaling 2,341 yards and 22 touchdowns in the Syracuse offense, adding 230 yards rushing and five points on the ground. Brown had only collected 39 catches for 846 yards and three touchdowns, as well as three catches for the scores of an 8-4 team from Notre Dame who had lost their last two games by a combined 59 -10 (he even had better results as a junior in 1986). Yet Notre Dame was our Lady and Syracuse only came out of a decade of mediocrity since Jim Brown, Ernie Davis and Floyd Little roamed the Orangemen's battlefield. Brown easily won the award, finishing with 324 first place votes against 167 for McPherson.

The fans of Syracuse are still a little salty about it:

Read more:

Kickoff of University Football Week 11: Turn the Coast Wheel of the CAC

University Football – Week 11: If the weather is good to weaken in Alabama, it could be Saturday

John Feinstein: Ivin Jasper, Naval Offensive Coordinator, Should Be Maryland's Next Soccer Coach

Maryland fires sports coaches on leave following the death of Jordan McNair

Maryland players adopt a little normality as they prepare for Indiana


Post Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: