Home Entertainment Heinrich von Kleist Prize to Clemens J. Setz

Heinrich von Kleist Prize to Clemens J. Setz

by drbyos

Heinrich von Kleist Prize to Clemens J. Setz

The Graz writer and translator Clemens J. Setz (37) receives the Heinrich von Kleist Prize, which is endowed with 20,000 euros.

According to the Heinrich von Kleist Society on Monday, he is “a literary extremist in the best sense, a storyteller and dramatist who always amazes his readers with anarchic imagination and malevolent cheerfulness”.

His curious look at the world is shifting the standards of normality. The award ceremony will take place on November 22nd at the Deutsches Theater in Berlin. Setz received the fiction prize of the Leipzig Book Fair for his story book “The love for the time of the Mahlstadt child”. Other well-known works are the novels “Indigo” (2012) and “The hour between woman and guitar” (2015).

The Heinrich von Kleist Prize goes to writers who, like the namesake, can be seen as pioneers for the future. Previous winners include Herta Müller, Sibylle Lewitscharoff, Navid Kermani and Daniel Kehlmann. Most recently, the Swiss Ilma Rakusa (2019) and the Austrian writer Christoph Ransmayr (2018) received the award.

Text: APA



You may also like

Leave a Comment