India started with a win in T20 too; They defeated Sri Lanka by 38 runs

Colombo, First Published Jul 25, 2021, 11:40 PM IST

Colombo: India won the first T20I match against Sri Lanka by 38 runs. Batting first, India scored 164 for five in the allotted overs after losing the toss at the Premadasa Stadium in Colombo. In reply, the hosts were all out for 126 in 18.1 overs. Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Deepak Chahar took four and two wickets respectively. Earlier, Suryakumar Yadav (50) and Shikhar Dhawan (46) led India to a better score. Sanju Samson (27 off 20 balls) gave India a good start.

Sri Lanka, who started the innings with a target of 165, lost three wickets for 50 runs. Minod Bhanuka (10), Dhananjaya D’Silva (9) and Avishka Fernando (26) returned to the pavilion. The hosts could not escape this initial collapse. With the exception of Charith Asalanka (44), everyone else put on a disappointing performance. Ashan Bhandara (9), Dasun Shanaka (16), Vanidu Hasaranga (0), Chamika Karunaratne (3), Isuru Udana (1) and Dushmantha Chameera (1) are the other outfielders. Akila Dhananjaya (1) remained unbeaten. Apart from Bhuvi and Chahar, Krunal Pandya, Varun Chakraborty, Yusvendra Chahal and Hardik Pandya took one wicket each.

India got off to a bad start. Debutant Prithviraj (0) was out on the first ball of the innings. Sanju and captain Dhawan, who played at number three, saved India from collapse. Both added 51 runs for the third wicket. But Sanju was caught in front of the wicket by Hazaranga. Sanju’s innings consisted of one six and two fours.

Suryakumar, who reached the crease in the fourth, continued his excellent form in T20. He completed his half-century off just 34 balls. Sanju’s innings consisted of five fours and two sixes. He added 62 runs with Dhawan. When Dhawan returned, the alliance fell apart. Dhawan’s innings consisted of four fours and a six.

See also  Prithviraj Shah should have batted third if Pujara, not KL Rahul; Former Australia captain

With the return of both, India could not rise to the expected score. Hardik Pandya (10 off 12 balls) disappointed. Ishant Kishan (20 not out off 14 balls) scored 160 runs. Krunal Pandya (3) remained unbeaten. Vanidu Hazaranga and Dushmantha Chameera took two wickets each for Sri Lanka.

Last Updated Jul 25, 2021 11:40 PM IST


Leave a Comment