Nestroy prizes for Marthaler and Jelinek

The Swiss theater maker Christoph Marthaler receives the life’s work Nestroy 2020, Elfriede Jelinek for her “Schwarzwasser” the author’s award. For the 21st Nestroy Awards, which will not take place as a live gala on October 4, but as a pre-recorded TV broadcast on ORF III due to the corona, 35 nominations in a further eleven categories were announced on Tuesday.

The dancer Beatrice Cordua (“TANZ”), Theresa Palfi from the Landestheater Linz (Elizabeth in “Maria Stuart”) and Burgtheater star Caroline Peters (“Schwarzwasser”) have been nominated for Best Actress. Among the actors, Florian Köhler (Mrs. Zittel in “Heldenplatz”), who has moved from the Burgtheater to Josefstadt, and Johannes Krisch (Weinberl in “He wants to make a joke”) and Burgtheater newcomer Franz Pätzold (Dionysus in “Die Bakchen”) Price opportunities.

Florentina Holzinger, whose piece “TANZ. Eine sylphidische Träumerei in Stunts” (premiered in Tanzquartier Wien) was recently voted the production of the year in the critics’ survey of the specialist journal “Theater heute”, has next to Viktor Bodó (“Peer Gynt” in the Volkstheater ) and Amélie Niermeyer (“Der Kirschgarten” in the Theater in der Josefstadt) Chances for the Nestroy in the category “Best Director”. The “best performance in the German-speaking area” comes either from the Schauspielhaus Zurich (“The human appears in the Holocene”), from the Münchner Kammerspiele (“The Robbers”) or from the Berlin Friedrichstadt-Palast (“Belief in the possibility of a complete renewal of the world “).

The otherwise usual special price was converted into a “Corona special price” this year, with which, according to the new jury chairman Ulli Stepan, an attempt was made to “do justice to the extraordinary situation of this year”. “The shortened 2019/20 season also presented the jury of the Nestroy Theater Prize with major challenges,” said Stepan. The jury saw 544 theatrical performances in the season that was canceled prematurely.

For the first time there is to be a “stage” special prize not determined by the jury. According to Andreas Kornhofer, editor & managing director of Red Bull Media House Publishing, this should be “above all a thank you”, “which ultimately goes to all those who fight for more culture and more education in society, especially in extraordinary times like these”. The jury has nominated ten artists for the ORF III audience award: Bibiana Beglau, Ruth Brauer-Kvam, Mavie Hörbiger, Maria Köstlinger, Claudia Sabitzer, Tobias Moretti, Michael Niavarani, Der Nino from Vienna, Otto Schenk and Martin Wuttke. You can vote for them until September 25, 11:59 p.m.

Those: APA

Leave a Comment