NYT: the EU may temporarily prohibit the entry of the United States, Brazil and Russia

The European Union after the opening of the external borders considering the possibility of a temporary refusal of entry for residents of the USA, Brazil and Russia because of the unfavorable situation with the pandemic coronavirus, writes The New York Times, citing a draft document. Lists compiled on the basis of the data about the cases COVID-19 in the last 14 days per 100 thousand people. In the EU, according to the newspaper, this figure is an average of 16 cases in Russia — 80, US — 107, and in Brazil — 190.

According to the document, there are two lists of “potential countries”, which can allow entry to EU countries. One of them included 47 countries, where the rate of infection is lower than the EU average, in the second there are 54 countries where the score was worse, but not more than 20. In both lists there are, for example, China, Vietnam, Cuba, Uruguay, and Uganda.

Recall that the external borders of the European Union will gradually open from 1 July. Earlier it was reported that the EU decided to act in a coordinated manner, developing a common list of countries which will enter the state with a stable epidemiological situation. The list can include Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Northern Macedonia, Serbia, Montenegro. At this statement the European Commission noted that even if a citizen came from relatively safe countries, but is “a danger to the health of the population,” the country may be closed. Similarly, if the epidemiological situation in a third country is deteriorating, it can be re-introduced restrictions.

Read more in the material “Kommersant” “the European Union is preparing a white list for tourists”.