The first ten countries that qualify for the Eurovision 2019 final


Eurovision 2019 has officially started with the first semifinal. Cyprus, Australia and Iceland, the favorites according to the bookmakers, have met the forecasts and have qualified for the final on Saturday May 18 (9:00 pm, The 1) to be held at the Expo in Tel Aviv (Israel). However, the big surprise of the night was the election of the representative of San Marino, Serhat, who with his song 'Say Na Na Na' has managed to get his country back to the festival final five years after the legendary Valentina Monetta would do the same with 'Maybe'. The singer, of Turkish origin, already appeared to the contest in 2016, although in that occasion he did not obtain the pass.

For its part, the extravagant proposal of Portugal, led by Conan Osíris with the song 'Telemovéis', has remained on the doors even though it was among the favorites. In this sense, the Hungarian Joci Pápai, who already participated in Eurovision in 2017, has also failed to overcome the cut by not having the support of the professional jury and the 'televoting'. Belgium, another of the most outstanding candidates in the betting, has remained in the semifinals for the second consecutive year with the song 'Wake Up' by the young artist Elliot.

Classified countries

Greece, Belarus, Serbia, Cyprus, Estonia, Czech Republic, Australia, Iceland, San Marino and Slovenia.

Not classified

Portugal, Hungary, Montenegro, Poland, Finland, Belgium and Georgia.

The first semifinal has started, as has been the tradition since the establishment of the two previous qualifiers in 2008, with the interpretation of the winning theme in the previous edition, 'Toy', by the Israeli Netta Barzilai, which has brought with it an army of 'Nettas' with the kimono he used in his victory last year in Lisbon. This Tuesday ten countries were chosen among seventeen candidates. On Thursday, in the second semifinal, the other ten representatives will be selected in the second semifinal (21:00 hours, La 2).

Among the most outstanding performances of the night was Cyprus with 'Replay' by the singer Tamta, one of the most danceable suggestions of the edition and with a remarkable resemblance to the 'Fire' of Eleni Foureira that remained at the gates of the triumph last year. The representative of Australia, the singer-songwriter and actress Kate Miler-Heidke, has offered one of the most spectacular stagings of the night when flying over wires to represent the 'lack of gravity' that inspired the lyrics of her lyrical pop theme, whose title is 'Zero Gravity'.

'La Venda' played in the first semifinal

The candidacies of Spain and France have been able to present a minute of their performance although they are classified directly for the final on Saturday because they belong together with Germany, the United Kingdom and Italy to the one known as 'Big Five'. Israel, the host country and winner of the previous edition, has also shown a fragment of its Eurovision theme, 'Home', played by Kobi Marimi.

Thus, one of the presenters of the semifinal, Assi Azar, has joked with Miki Núñez, and has shown a photo without a shirt of the Spanish representative, which has caused laughter among the public. In this first gala, the artist Dana International, winner by Israel in 1998 with the song 'Diva', has reappeared on television to reinterpret Bruno Mars' 'Just the way you are'.

(tagsToTranslate) first (t) ten (t) countries (t) classify (t) final (t) eurovision (t) 2019


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.