Tiger Woods, Dottie Pepper, Tim Finchem among the finalists of the World Golf Hall of Fame

Tiger Woods, Dottie Pepper and Tim Finchem are among the finalists that the World Golf Hall of Fame selection committee will consider for induction in 2021.

In a vote on Monday, the room nomination committee submitted four finalists from the competing male category, four from the competing female category and two from the “participant” category.

Johnny Farrell, Padraig Harrington and Tom Weiskopf join Woods among the male finalists. Susie Maxwell Berning, Beverly Hanson and Sandra Palmer join Pepper among the women. Marion Hollins joined Finchem as a finalist in the contributor category.

A player or contributor must receive approval from 75 percent of the selection committee to obtain the consecration.

Earlier this year, the World Golf Hall of Fame announced changes to its induction criteria and selection process, with the age of eligibility reduced from 50 to 45 (during the induction year) , or with the player removed at least three years from being an active participant in the tour.

A player must have 15 official victories on tours that receive points in the women’s Rolex world rankings or must have won at least two major championships to be considered by induction. A male player must have 15 official tour victories among the original members of the International Federation of PGA Tours or have won two major leagues or The Players Championship.

Male finalists:

  • Tiger Woods – 82 PGA Tour titles, 15 major leagues, 11 PGA Tour Player of the Year awards, nine Vardon trophies, three U.S. amateur titles.
  • Johnny Farrell – 22 PGA Tour titles and one of the major, the 1928 United States Open.
  • Padraig Harrington – 15 European tour titles, six PGA tour titles, three major championships, PGA Tour Player of the Year 2008, 2007 and ’08 European Tour Golfer of the Year.
  • Tom Weiskopf – 16 PGA Tour titles and an important championship, the 1973 Open Championship

Female finalists:

  • Dottie Pepper – 17 LPGA titles, two major leagues, 1992 LPGA Player of the Year, 92 Vare Trophy winner.
  • Susie Maxwell Berning – 11 LPGA titles, four major leagues (three U.S. Women’s Open).
  • Beverly Hanson – 17 LPGA titles, three major championships, 1950 US women’s amateur title.
  • Sandra Palmer – 19 LPGA titles, two major leagues, 1975 LPGA player of the year.


* Tim Finchem – PGA Tour commissioner, 1993-2016; oversaw an unprecedented growth of the PGA Tour bags and the extent of the Tour, with the creation of the World Golf Championships. Presented the FedExCup, the Presidents Cup, created the First Tee and oversaw the collection of the Tour for over $ 1 billion for charitable causes.

* Marion Hollins – The 1921 American amateur wins and becomes one of the most influential women in the game’s early development, including her work as a golf course architect and one of the only golf course women in history; a main force behind the foundation and formation of Cypress Point, Pasatiempo and the National Golf and Tennis Club for women.


Leave a Comment