Win 2-1, Luis Suarez cs Spanish League Champion!


Atletico Madrid have legitimately won the Spanish League this season. The 2-1 victory over Real Valladolid in the last jornada was the determining factor.

Playing at Estadio Jose Zorrilla, Saturday (22/5/2021), Valladolid took the lead in the 18th minute through Oscar Plano’s kick. But in the second half, Atletico got up.

Goals from Angel Correa (57 ‘) and Luis Suarez (67’) sealed the win for Los Rojiblancos, as well as seal the title this season.

These results put Atletico in first place with 86 points, two points ahead of Real Madrid who won 2-1 against Villarreal. This LaLiga title is Atletico’s 11th in history, or the first in seven years.

The course of the match

Luis Suarez had a chance in the 9th minute, but his right-footed shot went wide on the left of the Valladolid goal guarded by Jordi Masip. A minute later, the hosts turned to press through Toni Villa’s long-range shot, but Jan Oblak easily secured the net.

GOAL! Valladolid took the lead in the 18th minute. On the counterattack, Marcos de Sousa sent a through ball to Oscar Plano, who was galloping up front.

Even though four Atletico players chased him, Plano calmly managed to score the ball into Atletico’s goal with his right foot. Valladolid leads 1-0.

Oscar Plano (front) celebrates his goal against Atletico Madrid. Photo: Getty Images / Angel Martinez

Underdeveloped conditions make the pressure for Atletico even greater. They need a goal to win, but getting it is not an easy job.

See also  Disclosure of the "Classico Earth" referee - Al-Riyadi

José Giménez’s chance through a corner in the 27th minute can still be overcome by Masip. Felipe’s header in the 33rd minute missed the goal, and Marcos Llorente’s long-range shot in the 45th minute bounced over the net. 1-0 score lasted until the break.

Entering the second half, Atletico’s attacks were increasingly becoming. In the 46th minute, Suarez’s header failed to break into Valladolid’s goal again. Four minutes later, Jose Gimenez’s header from a corner was also not on target.

In the 52nd minute, Atletico got another chance through Mario Hermoso’s header, but the result was again not at goal. But Atletico’s efforts finally paid off in the 57th minute.

Receiving Yannick Carrasco’s pass outside the penalty box, Angel Correa then nibbled two Valladolid players, then fired a horizontal shot that passed through Jawad El Yamiq’s leg and lodged in the host’s goal. Score becomes 1-1.

Valladolid's Spanish goalkeeper Jordi Masip faisl to stop a ball kicked by Atletico Madrid's Argentine forward Angel Correa (not pictured) during the Spanish league football match Real Valladolid FC against Club Atletico de Madrid at the Jose Zorilla stadium in Valladolid on May 22, 2021. (Photo by CESAR MANSO / AFP)The moment that Jordi Masip’s goal was broken into by Angel Correa. Photo: AFP / CESAR MANSO

The goal added to the enthusiasm of Diego Simeone’s men. Although Valladolid also posed a threat, Atletico managed to take the lead in the 67th minute.

Intention to feed a teammate, Sergi Guardiola’s bait in the middle of the field leads to Suarez. The Uruguayan forward ran fast on his own with the ball, then ended with a left-footed shot which beat Masip. 2-1!

In the remaining time, no more goals are created. Atletico won and locked the title of the Spanish League this season.

Atletico Madrid's Uruguayan forward Luis Suarez (R) scores during the Spanish league football match Real Valladolid FC against Club Atletico de Madrid at the Jose Zorilla stadium in Valladolid on May 22, 2021. (Photo by CESAR MANSO / AFP)Luis Suarez’s kick which resulted in Atletico’s second goal at the same time locked the title. Photo: AFP / CESAR MANSO

Line-up of players

See also  Liga Spain: Luis Suarez Didn't Stop Scoring Goals for Atletico Madrid, Barcelona Sorry?

Real Valladolid: Masip, Janko (Hervias 82 ‘), Kiko, El Yamiq, Olaza, Plano, San Emeterio (Kike Perez 82’), Mesa (Guardiola 62 ‘), Toni Villa (Jota 62’), Marcos de Sousa (Herrero 62 ‘), Weissman

Atletico Madrid: Oblak, Hermoso (Lodi 63 ‘), Felipe, Jose Gimenez, Trippier, Niguez (Joao Felix 63’), Koke, Llorente (Kondogbia 79 ‘), Carrasco, Suarez, Correa (Herrera 85’)



Leave a Comment