Wout van Aert offers himself a monument in front of Julian Alaphilippe (video)

The first Cycling Monument of the season, delayed by five months due to the coronavirus pandemic, fell into the hands of Wout van Aert (Jumbo-Visma). After 305 kilometers of racing, the Belgian won the 111th edition of Milan-Sanremo by beating the Frenchman Julian Alaphilippe (Deceuninck-Quick Step), title holder, in a two-man sprint. He is the first Belgian to win since Andrei Tchmil in 1999.

The breakaway of the day, which started at the beginning of the race, consisted of seven riders, with the Italians Mattia Bais (Androni Giocattoli – Sidermec), Manuele Boaro (Astana), Fabio Mazzucco, Alessandro Tonelli (Bardiani-CSF-Faizanè), Damiano Cima (Gazprom – RusVelo) and Marco Frapporti (Vini Zabù – KTM) as well as the Spaniard Hector Carretero (Movistar).

Sometimes cited among the favorites, the Italian Matteo Trentin (CCC) suffered a fall 85 kilometers from the finish and had to throw in the towel.

The last runaway, Boaro was finally caught 35 kilometers from the finish, shortly before the last two jumps, the Cipressa and the Poggio. It was also at this time that Alaphilippe was the victim of a technical incident. Helped by Tim Declercq, he was able to get back to the top of the race.

Launched at full speed in the final, the peloton saw Loïc Vliegen (Circus-Wanty Gobert) place a frank attack from the foot of the Cipressa. Once the Liege had taken over, the Italian Daniel Oss (BORA-hansgrohe) also tried his luck, in vain.

It was grouped that the peloton approached the Poggio. After several attacks, including that of Aimé De Gendt (Circus-Wanty Gobert), it was Alaphilippe who took the lead at the mythical telephone booth at the top of Poggio.

Wout van Aert, authoritarian winner last Saturday on the Strade Bianche, made the junction in the descent. The duo, who got on well to keep their thin lead, won the sprint. Quicker, Wout van Aert signed the most convincing victory of his career.

The Australian Michael Matthews (Sunweb) settled the group of pursuers which included the Belgians Greg Van Avermaet (CCC), 8th, Philippe Gilbert (Lotto Soudal), 9th, Oliver Naesen (AG2R La Mondiale), 14th, Ties Benoot ( Sunweb), 20th, and Aimé De Gendt, 21st.


Leave a Comment