Home » News » LIST: States that have closed all schools because of the coronavirus

LIST: States that have closed all schools because of the coronavirus

DALLAS (NEXSTAR) – Due to the coronavirus pandemic, many states have taken the rare step of closing schools to try to slow the spread of the virus.

The outbreak has already temporarily closed schools in a growing list of states, including Ohio, Maryland, Michigan, Illinois, Virginia, Oregon, Washington, New Mexico and South Dakota. Cities from Los Angeles to Seattle to Washington, D.C. have also announced the closure of public schools. Meanwhile, Congress is taking steps to make it easier for school meals to be distributed across multiple sites.

Here is a list of states that have announced closings:

State Superintendent Eric Mackey has announced that schools will close from 5pm. Wednesday March 18. All public schools will have a 2.5-week break.

Governor Doug Ducey and State Superintendent Kathy Hoffman have jointly announced the closure of all Arizona schools from Monday 16 March 2020 to Friday 27 March 2020.

Governor Asa Hutchinson has announced that all Arkansas schools will suspend on-site instructions.


The Jared Polis government has ordered that all public and private schools be closed to learning in person from April 23-17, according to KDVR.

Governor Ned Lamont ordered all public schools across the state to cancel classes from Tuesday March 17th until March 31st at least. The date can be extended if necessary.

Governor John Carney has run all public schools that have closed since March 27.

Public schools across the state will be closed until April 15 due to coronavirus, the state announced.

Governor Brian Kemp signed an executive order to close all elementary, secondary and post-secondary public schools in Georgia until the end of the month in an attempt to stop the spread of COVID-19.

The Department of Education of Hawaii closed its offices except for essential functions and schools were expected to close on March 30 following a prolonged spring break. Students are expected to return to school on April 7.

Illinois Government JB Pritzker has closed all Illinois schools in recent efforts to slow the spread of COVID-19. Students will leave school on Tuesday 17 March and the return is scheduled for 30 March.

Governor Eric Holcomb signed an executive order extending the closure of K-12 public schools until May 1st. Non-public schools are also ordered closed. This date can be revised to extend it until the end of the 2019-2020 school year if circumstances warrant it.

Governor Kim Reynolds has announced that it will close schools four weeks due to the growing spread of COVID-19.

Governor Laura Kelly announced that all K-12 schools will be closed for the remainder of the school year due to the coronavirus.

Public school districts across Kentucky have been closed for at least two weeks due to the coronavirus pandemic

Governor John Bel Edwards closed all K-12 public schools across the state on Monday March 16, resuming on Monday April 13, while Louisiana tries to slow the spread of COVID-19 in the state.

Maryland public schools will be closed March 16-27 in response to the coronavirus. Governor Hogan announces a series of actions to be taken immediately.

Governor Charlie Baker has announced that schools will be closed for three weeks starting Tuesday.

Michigan Governor Gretchen Whitmer said all state and private schools in the state will close for three weeks until April 5 to combat the spread of a growing number of coronavirus cases.

Minnesota schools are closed for learning but open for childcare for emergency personnel. Graduation services suspended.

Governor Tate Reeves signed an executive order to close all public schools until April 17.

In a press conference, Governor Steve Sisolak announced the closure of all K-12 schools in the state until April 6.

New Hampshire
Governor Chris Sununu ordered all New Hampshire schools to close immediately and begin a transition to remote learning for a three-week period.

New Mexico
The New Mexico Department of Education has announced that all public schools will be closed for three weeks due to concerns about the spread of coronavirus.

North Carolina
The North Carolina government Roy Cooper issued an executive order on Saturday that terminates meetings of 100 or more people and closes all K-12 public schools for at least two weeks.

North Dakota
Governor Doug Burgum has announced that schools will be closed for next week. He says the state will make an assessment of the extension in the future.

New York
The New York State Department of Education has requested that all New York state schools close until April 1.

Officials say students attending Oklahoma public schools will be out of class for at least three weeks following a decision by the Oklahoma State Board of Education.

The governor of Ohio said all schools will take a long spring break from the end of the school day Monday and will last until April 3. Applies to all K-12 public, private and charter schools.

Governor Kate Brown announced a statewide school shutdown for Oregon students from Monday March 16 to Tuesday March 31.

Governor Tom Wolf has announced the closure of all K-12 schools in Pennsylvania for 10 business days starting Monday, March 16.

Rhode Island
Governor Gina Raimondo has announced that all public schools in Rhode Island will be closed next week, postponing the April holidays.

South Carolina
Governor Henry McMaster plans to close all schools, with the possibility of allowing those districts in the counties without known cases of COVID-19 to conduct school on Monday to prepare for distance learning.

South Dakota
Governor Kristi Noem has asked schools to close across the state. They will be closed for a week.

Governor Bill Lee urges schools to close as soon as possible and all schools are expected to close by Friday March 20. Schools are expected to remain closed until March 31st.

Governor Greg Abbott has issued an executive order that will close schools until April 3.

Governor Gary Herbert announced a “soft shutdown” of all K-12 public and charter schools for two weeks until March 27.

Governor Phil Scott ordered the closure of all Pre-K-12 schools to be closed by Wednesday March 18th until April 6th. The Scott government has said that this period could be prolonged.

Virginia Governor Ralph Northam has ordered the closure of all Commonwealth K-12 schools for at least two weeks due to the coronavirus.

Governor Jay Inslee has announced that he is ordering the closure of all Washington schools from March 17, at least until April 24.

West Virginia
West Virginia government Jim Justice closed schools on Friday for now. He says it is important to make sure that students’ needs are taken into account and that closing schools will also help prevent the spread of the virus.

Governor Tony Evers ordered the statewide closure of all public and private K-12 schools as part of the state’s efforts to respond to and contain the spread of COVID-19.

This list will continue to be updated as more announcements are made.

(The Associated Press contributed to this report)

Leave a Comment